JenAmI

Just another WordPress.com weblog

You Really Should Clean That Thing More Often

leave a comment »

Fomite art

This “art” was produced by imprinting a smart phone on a Petri dish.

From the annals of “biology and art collide”:

Students in the undergraduate Practical and Biomedical Bacteriology class run by Simon Park were encouraged to imprint their mobile phones onto a petri dish filled with the growth media to see what bacteria were present. After three days, the imprints had bloomed with bacteria.

This is an excellent way to present biology to the public. For all of the hand-washing I do, I’m still quite guilty of checking my cell phone for incoming texts/emails while I’m eating. Even though I know in the back of my head that it’s dirty, I keep it on my person so much of the time that it almost seems to be an extension of me – and somewhere deep in my brain’s recesses I rationalize that it can’t be that bad.

Except it is, apparently.

(More “dirty phone pictures” here.)

Did this picture inspire  you to clean your phone or other personal device?

Written by Jen Szymanski

February 28, 2013 at 9:14 am

Posted in Science

Leave a Reply

