JenAmI

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Things I wish I could unsee

with 4 comments

I know that the press loves to quote fools, and, I live near Pittsburgh, so I’m not naive. 

But this is the most disheartening thing I’ve ever seen.  Half-breed?  Isn’t that a Cher song from THIRTY YEARS AGO?

  Psst…I’ve got a secret to tell anyone out there who won’t vote for anyone who’s not white and male…young people of today aren’t even outraged at the comments you make.  They just find you stupid and irrelevant, dinosaurs past their time to go extinct. 

Written by Jen Szymanski

May 13, 2008 at 5:58 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Amen sister! I witnessed a lot of this first-hand campaigning for Obama in NH and PA (but not NC, SC or VA, interestingly enough, although it may have been the towns I was in).

    I was a little shocked at first, but I think that I wasn’t really surprised deep down. Saddened, absolutely. But we have to keep the Hope and move on, to enlighten others on the campaign trail.

    These old relics of another era will die off eventually, and hopefully take their racist views with them. We already have the most tolerant, accepting generation alive right now in our youth, and they’re ready to change the world.

    Let’s get to work!

    pittgirly

    May 24, 2008 at 6:28 pm

  2. When a friend of mine who grew up in Hammond and went to college at Ball State and Purdue Universities told me that the majority of Indiana has a serious problem with racism, I was incredulous. For whatever reason, I never considered Indiana to be a state that would have that issue. Unfortunately, it appears that ignorance is more widespread that I thought.

    universalskeptic

    May 31, 2008 at 5:22 pm

  3. I sincerely hope that the young people of today do not hold the view that there is a “half-breed.” I hope the optimism is there. My son is a younger version of Obama and I sincerely hope that the American people are past the racism of the past and can give Obama the chance to be a role model for my son. I think we’re making giant leaps in that direction. I pray my son doesn’t have to endure what past generations dealt with. (PS – I’m a coworker/friend of your brother and just found his blog and yours from there. Hope it’s ok that I post! )

    Amber

    June 5, 2008 at 4:54 pm

  4. Thanks for commenting, Amber! You are very welcome to post at any time.

    Truthfully, I didn’t know anyone still used the term “half breed” anymore. I find it to be repellent, personally….but I am, as you say, optimistic that we can retire such terms into oblivion.

    jenami

    June 5, 2008 at 5:25 pm


Leave a Reply

