JenAmI

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Criticizing my mom

with 2 comments

Yahoo news has a feature that suggests that aging baby boomers are having difficulty paying bills for ordinary things.  Although I’m not happy with the n listed in the survey (1002?), I’ll take the article at face value.  I’m becoming distressingly aware, however, that some of the blame for what’s not right in this country should fall squarely at the feet of that generation.  The keyword for that generation might be “disposable.”  If you were born between 1946 and 1964, the following two points (by way of example) can be made:

1.) You lived through an economic boom in the 1950’s, whereby suburbs became the norm, rather than the exception.

2.) You came of professional age during the “Me” 1980’s; cultivating an atmosphere of (to quote Michael Douglas) “Greed is good.”

To be sure, there are many things that the boomer generation accomplished for which I am exceedingly grateful; these just happen to be two of which I am not.  However, the mindset of unending oil and landfills, that this country is without parallel in its perfection, that consumption of goods at any cost is part of the American Way – these things are left to my generation (X), and to my progeny.  Whether we embrace them, or choose another path is our decision.  

What remains, though, is that we are charged with taking care of those who bore us.  We are stuck, as are generations before us, straddling the banks of future and the past.  I wonder if we will be able to cross before the flood waters rise.

 

Written by Jen Szymanski

May 13, 2008 at 2:30 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Aging Baby Boomers aren’t the only ones either. Although my wife and I, both GenXers, are doing quite well….so far. But we are looking into ways to spend lest. For example, less vacations. In fact, this summer there will be no Big Vacation, just couple of small-scale junkets. Also, a lot less eating out, especially at work. And since I work rather close to home I’m looking into maybe riding my bike to work when possible.

    There’s a new book. While America Aged, by Roger Lowenstein that explores this issue in greater depth.

    http://www.amazon.com/While-America-Aged-Bankrupted-Financial/dp/1594201676/ref=pd_bbs_sr_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1210726779&sr=1-1

    sonnypi67

    May 14, 2008 at 1:05 am

  2. Thanks for the link! I’ve seen a few things posted on blogs that have gotten me thinking about this issue, but I’d like a “pro” opinion.

    jenami

    May 16, 2008 at 12:22 pm


Leave a Reply

